Carnage in the Gulf of Carpentaria

Whether by land or sea, logging native forests or commercial prawn fishing, by-catch is the end result of societies bullish demand for a fast, convenient and easy capitalist lifestyle, and dam the by-catch to hell…

Stand Tall On Deck

DSCF8070

Ten years ago, almost to the day, we find ourselves in the middle of the Pacific Ocean standing tall on the deck of the Maka Koa. She’s sandwiched between the Hawaiian island of Maui and crescent-shaped Molokini Crater. Excitement and nervous anticipation fills my every fibre as I am about to log my first night dive. I slowly check and re-check my gear and catch myself imagining that I’m a secret agent sent to infiltrate some unknown territory. I quietly hum the Miami Vice theme song. As the sun and horizon gently hold hands, I slip beneath the surface into another world. It’s the time of day when you witness the changing of the guards; diurnal animals are brushing their teeth and getting ready for bed while the nocturnal ones are wiping the sleep out of their eyes and having a cup of coffee in preparation for the hunt. Dusk…

View original post 1,123 more words

About takesonetwoknowone

I have a daughter, and i want my daughter to know what's going on as i grow through my life surrounded by injustices perpetrated by bullies in so many forms and guises...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

